Being a Mom during a tragic event

Yes, it has been a very sad almost week now. We are all hurting inside as a nation. I completely understand. I cry too but I must stay strong!
As a mother the idea of a child dying is unimaginable. I push my energy towards love and hope that we can change as a human race!!
What is hard is trying to avoid reminders of the horrific event. What is hard is trying to get people to understand why I continue to remember the people who lost all during Superstorm Sandy and that it is the holidays. I push on!
I am instructed by the girls school to engage them in the newspaper allow them to explore. Well how the hell can I do that when every page reminds us of the bad???!! I am instructed to enrich their lives, introduce them to new. We were watching snowboarding the other day on tv which was so “kindly” interrupted by the news to show us a press briefing at Newtown. Instead of showing my children how cool Shaun White is and letting them see his 1st place winning half pipe run, I need to shield them from the tv which develops into questions and concern. We try to listen to XM Christmas songs while we drive around and look at holiday lights. Have to change that too while dedications are made and reminders fill our ears.
How in the world do you stay strong, as a mother, in a time like this? My heart goes out to all Moms whom have lost a child.
But I wish as a nation that we would realize that banning assault weapons is just like banning drugs…. just think about it.
Focus on it from outside the box. Maybe if our Nation would stop supporting the local media we could possibly translate into a better place. There is TOO MUCH attention put on the negative, the sad, the ‘wrong’, that we struggle to find the meaning of life and the focus of our energy.
I hope not to make light of the situation just hope to feed someones mind that can help support a positive energy flow back into our universe!! ♥

Leave a Reply

